these boots are made for walking

***DISCLAIMER:  This post is filled with fragments.  If you have edit-while-you-read tendencies (like I do), you may want to forego this post.  :REMIALCSID***

I bought boots.  Well, I actually ordered them.  Online.  And I looked at all the photos.  And I read all the reviews (which were incredibly positive).  And, like a nesting mother waiting for her expectant arrival, I cleaned the house.  From top to bottom (except the kiddos’ rooms).  Like, I even vacuumed the stairs.  And mopped.  And wiped walls.  And guess what was on my doorstep?  A beautiful box from Amazon!  Hooray!!!!

With sweet anticipation, I sliced the tape and removed the gorgeous large box from its outer wrapping….

Wait, I need to back up a little.  I grew up in a warm climate.  A very warm climate.  And humid.  Very humid.  A few years ago, I relocated to another place (which, for all intents and purposes could have been virtually anywhere) which had seasons…you know, those things we learned about in school…and that James Taylor song?  Winter, Spring, Summer, & Fall?  Well, I could handle the Spring-Summer-Fall part…but this Winter thing was a bit unconventional…layers of clothes, and coats, and snow clothes for kiddos, and boots…really, boots?  Isn’t that what people wear on ranches?

I didn’t get too far into winter (or maybe even late fall) before I realized that boots were a necessity…snow boots, dress boots, everyday boots. I began shopping and thrifting around, seeking something fun and functional for this new season of my life.  I found and purchased some black boots at a store and wore them around, but they weren’t my favorite.  Then, I happened upon my favorite black boots ever–at a local thrift store.  I think I paid $8 for them.  And they rock. 🙂

I didn’t have nearly that luck with brown boots.  If you’ve seen my photos, you can see my brown hair, and I happen to wear quite a bit of brown because of it.  Well, I have been on the hunt for amazing brown boots since I found my favorite black boots…& they have eluded me.  😦  I still look in stores, thrift stores, and even have resorted to shoe shopping online (this was my first experience) in hopes to find that brown boot that suits my fancy.

…Okay, enter brown box on doorstep, ripped tape, new boot box…I carefully lifted the lid and the breath which entered my mouth with such force was unfortunately not one of gleeful excitement.  The calves were quite wide (which had been a consideration, but had not been noted in any of the reviews).  Still, I thought (hopefully) that I might just be judging too quickly, so I unpacked the packing, covered my bare foot in a thin sock, and slid toes, arch, and heel into dark brown leather.  I zipped the back zipper and stood up to find that the calf was indeed too wide for my leg.  Feeling deflated, I removed the boot, replaced the packaging, and placed the boot box back into its brown box.  So much for “brown paper packages tied up in string.”  These boots are not one of my favorite things.  😦

And I love shoes.  Take a peek at this photo…I didn’t even wear these shoes for the shoot, but I LOVED them and wanted a pic with the shoes!

Copyright Sarah Knight Photography

I’m totally open to boot suggestions, though!!! Feel free to link favorites! 🙂

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

One thought on “these boots are made for walking”

Leave a Reply

