NaNoWriMo Update

I was hesitant to start reading a new book this month.  I have been writing for NaNoWriMo for almost a week now (today will be my sixth day of writing since I didn’t–and don’t plan to–write on Sunday).  So, amid bursts of words and the patience of my dear family, I have so far (and I haven’t written today yet) 14,096 words (which, double-spaced, equals about 51 pages).  I have always wondered if I had the time, determination, and wherewithal to accomplish such a daunting task, but I guess I know the answer now.  I have been amazed at the positivity I feel about myself and the new energy with which I am able to perform my otherwise perfunctory responsibilities.  I feel the support of my children and husband.  I feel excited to share my news with friends and family and those on Twitter and Facebook.  And, I have an empty sink (since my daughters and I caught up on dishes last night) along with a full heart.  Life is good.

This morning, though, I was feeling a little deflated…so I picked up a book I had requested from our local library.  I hesitated to open it (because I read slowly and just finished a rather lengthy reading endeavor last week) but I found it a delightfully quick read and a nice way to fill my head with a fun, quirky story as a distraction from the craziness I was experiencing.  I do love to read–but the book has to be worth the work my brain has to go through to read it.  I think I’ve found another one I actually want to keep reading.  🙂  See? Life really is good!

So, I leave you on this Wednesday to pick of where I left off, feeling blessed, happy, and grateful once again.  Grateful that I have a voice.  And though, at times, I find it falling on deaf ears, not making the difference I would like it to, I should continue to speak and write and blog simply because I have a message to share and a story to tell…and I’m finally finding the courage to tell it.

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

