Happy Thanksgiving!

I could give you lists of all the aspects of my life for which I am thankful, but I try to make gratitude part of my moment-to-moment existence, so I will leave you with a Thanksgiving memory which embodies giving and music and family–all parts of my existence which bring me happiness.

We have a Thanksgiving tradition in our home of singing, “The Turkey Song” each year (though I’m sorry I don’t know who to credit for this lovely addition to our Thanksgiving holiday).  It goes like this:

A turkey sat on a backyard fence and he sang this sad, sad tune

Thanksgiving Day is coming, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, and I know I’ll be eaten soon

Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, I would like to run away

Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, I don’t like Thanksgiving Day!

My mom used to make homemade pumpkin pies for friends, and my dad would drive us around town to deliver pies–and, as a “Thanksgiving Carol” of sorts, we would sing that song.  Gobble, gobble.  (So embarrassing as a teenager!)  But we were making memories and giving and singing and laughing, all parts of my life for which I am thankful!  Happy Thanksgiving!  🙂

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

