Christmas is coming; the geese are getting fat…

Do you remember that song?  I didn’t ever know what a hay-penny or a half-penny was until singing that song one day and wondering.  So, I did what I thought I should.  I asked my mom.  It’s what people did back in the day when we didn’t just Google all our questions.

Speaking of Googling questions…I have sick people in my home.  One actually woke me up around 2:23 a.m. to say she felt crummy and couldn’t sleep.  An hour and a few doses of medicine later, she wanted a shower.  Finally, about two hours later, she was headed to sleep, while one of her younger brothers found his way into our room.  I will spare you the other details, but let’s just say we didn’t sleep much last night.

Back to Googling, though…my dear husband is home again feeling yucky, as well (and, after little to no sleep last night, who can blame him?), and, when I sat down at the computer to begin my typing for NaNoWriMo this morning, he said, “If I were there, I would Google home remedies for colds/flu.”  I was curious, so I Googled the topic.

And guess what?

The Glorious Internet Fountain of Knowledge (through WebMD) said we should drink lots of fluids, take Vitamin C & garlic, use steam to clear sinuses, and take some cough medicine and Advil or Tylenol for pain.  Really?  We’ve been doing most of that for over a week, and still people are feeling gross.

Well, maybe I should take a moment and be grateful that most of my children are well and still going to school…and my cute preschooler is bubbling with energy (which really is a blessing…except when I want a nap!)…and I’m only about 1,000 words behind for NaNoWriMo…and still writing!  🙂  Life really is good.  And, I get to spend a little extra time with some cool people I love…helping to deliver cough drops and OTC medicines and watching movies.  If I can stay positive in light of all that is going on, then I will be okay!

Hope you are healthy and happy and still reading and writing, too, as the holidays approach!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

