When the going gets tough…

So, last night I was at a loss…or lost…or something…completely not myself.  Without going into detail, let’s just say my world was not rocking along smoothly.  Sure, I had 47,455 words toward my NaNoWriMo goal, and everyone was clothed…well, pretty much everyone since the preschooler removes his shirt often lately in the name of being the Hulk…and we fed everyone…but the clutter of the house and the weight of two weeks of an unhealthy household and people being reinfected (plus little to no sleep the night before) was hurting my heart…not to mention my head.  When I’m tired, I find that my will to be positive is depleted to almost nothing…you?

Anyway, right before I went to bed, I sent a post out to my dear Facebook friends asking for some prayers (since we were doing pretty much all we could of ourselves and needed strength we didn’t possess).  Several people commented and liked the post…even within moments…and the positive energy sent in our behalf brought a lighter feeling to our home and healthier feelings here.

I wonder why I didn’t ask sooner.

Sometimes I wait until I am at the end of my rope to ask for help.  Why is that?  I’m not sure, but I’m thinking about it today….  I know that I don’t like to bother people.  I also know that I feel like what happens is my responsibility and that I should take care of whatever it is.  And, I’m sure other reasons exist.  I will keep pondering….

This song has been running through my head today, though, as I have thought of how awesome I feel when I ask for help from others and they come running.

Just seeing the positive comments from friends has helped me feel that I am not alone in the universe…that people love me…and that together we can get through this life (and enjoy our time here, as well)!

Asking for help empowered others to offer positive energy that I desperately needed.  And, I imagine their burdens were made a little lighter, as well.  🙂

And now, I’m off to more writing and word counting…2 days left of November…and NaNoWriMo…(which I will miss)!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

2 thoughts on “When the going gets tough…”

    1. Thank you very much! And, to you, as well. I’ve enjoyed meandering through the winding road of your posts today! Keep writing! 🙂
      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

