The Product of NaNoWriMo 2012

As promised, I am recording for posterity (and my lovely blog readers) the lessons I have learned over the past weeks since I made a spontaneous decision to enter NaNoWriMo 2012.  (I was serious blogging about whether or not to do it…having done no outlining or anything…and just did it on a whim thanks to the encouragement of a few lovely voices!…& I thank you sincerely Marissa and Darcy!)  Here we go, in no particular order…:

  • Prayer works.  (Not that I didn’t know this prior to Nov. 1, 2012; it was just reaffirmed to me….)
  • Productivity produces energy.
  • Support from those you love is vital for success!
  • Goals can be accomplished…(and a lot more, too!).
  • I CAN WRITE!!!!!
  • Being purely creative is energizing.
  • My family, friends (& I) love me!
  • Even with road blocks (scheduling, sickness, holidays, etc.)~keep moving forward….! (See Meet the Robinsons for more info on this topic.)
  • God is aware of me and loves me!
  • I HAVE A VOICE (and an important one, at that)!
  • I can cultivate creativity…and a writing mood.
  • Breaks are important.  (I took every Sunday off…and a few other Thursdays sprinkled in the month, as well.)
  • When all else fails, have a dance party with the kiddos (…or with friends…or by yourself…)!
  • Have munchies around always.  (I had a Swiss Cake Roll emergency…luckily for me, I did have some left-over Double Stuf Oreos which satisfied the chocolate/creamy craving.)  🙂
  • Buy back your kids’ Halloween candy and use it for NaNoWriMo snacks…and to last until NaNoWriMo is over and you start making Christmas candy.
  • Spotify created great mood music when I needed it…and was a great resource for the karaoke scene I wrote.
  • You can always edit later.

In the past few days, I have listened to some of the songs on Alicia Keys’ new album–and the chorus and several lines of this song resonate with me.  I do feel like a “Brand New Me.”

The only time I recently felt this kind of growth and accomplishment is when I worked and trained for (& completed) a half-marathon with a dear friend of mine…something about measurable success.  Hopefully, though, I will write more novels than the number of races I’ve run…! 🙂

Hugs!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

8 thoughts on “The Product of NaNoWriMo 2012”

  1. Are you giddy or what?!! I’m giddy for you. It took all I had to write my thirty-some thousand words on blog posts over October and November. I am simply amazed at you and others who wrote 50,000 words in one month.

    1. I think I’m still walking on clouds…not much can get me down right now! 🙂 Congrats on finishing your series!!!! Your blog is amazing, and I’m looking forward to reading it more (now that I have a little bit of free time)! I thought of your Sunday post several times during November. Your writing is inspiring! Hugs!

    1. You can do it! I’ve never been able to write that much before last month! As far as Spotify, I blogged about it in my archives. I’ve tried to post a link here…but just check the archives (“To Spotify…or Not to Spotify” – the instructions are in the last comment). On Spotify’s end, look up Play Button (that’s what they call it) and paste the code in your Widgets/Text section. It is pretty cool! Let me know if you have any more questions! Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

