Choices

As I approach the dashboard of my blog to write this Monday morning, my heart is (honestly) a little heavy.  I know I can sit here and recount the conversations of the weekend and how we are all really no less safe than we were four days ago…but we may feel like we are.  I know I can ignore what I am feeling, as well, and get lost in some editing or fiction writing or a book or movie.  I also know that I can take my advice from Friday (which I posted before the news hit) and count my blessings.  I think I will choose the last.

(I would be dishonest to say that I didn’t hug my little ones a little tighter before they left my door this morning, though.)

I am so very blessed in my life.  Currently, I live in a more-than-ample house with a kitchen I adore using.  I have beautiful, insightful children who impart wisdom to me daily.  I have a handsome husband who loves me in spite of my multitude of flaws, shortcomings, and occasional sadness over situations I cannot control.  I was raised by good parents.  I have amazing friends and family members.  I can rock heels.  (And, last week, I even found brown boots…but that is another story!)

Somehow choosing to focus on the vast blessings before me helps my heart feel a little lighter.  I will try to choose happiness instead of feeding the negative feelings bouncing around my head of fear and uncertainty.  I will count a few more blessings along my path today…and among them will be you, my dear readers.  🙂

Thanks for listening…and reading.  I appreciate you more than you know.

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

5 thoughts on “Choices”

  1. The attitude of gratitude can pull us through most anything – that’s been my personal experience and it looks to be yours. When times are tough – take out that gratitude list! Hugs.

    1. Thanks for the hugs. Sending them back to you! Yes, gratitude, helping others, and using my time to get back to moments of happiness always helps! 🙂
      Have a great day!

  2. I so needed this, this morning. Thank you! I feel like these kind of muscles are ones you need to train and build up – the muscle of choice of what angle you look at your day with, or the rest of your life with at that matter. And today I want to choose to see how well I am doing and how, despite whatever hard stuff life throws at you, it throws at you just as much good stuff too. Big love X

    1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂 Your post I read yesterday sincerely helped me feel better, too. And, I am feeling refreshed after a shower and some sleep. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

