Third Time’s the Charm

So, I don’t often work much with clichés or colloquialisms.  In my writing classes in college, we were taught to avoid those types of fall-back phrases in order to explore new ideas and more creative ways to express our thoughts.  In the following cases, though, I have found the phrase “third time’s the charm” to be appropriate. 🙂

First Case in Point:  Dentists

Since our last relocation effort, I have neglected finding a new dentist for my family.  We had insurance issues…and distance issues…and personality issues.  We visited one for a dental emergency that wasn’t the best fit.  We visited another for a cleaning and an attempt to do some work, which also wasn’t the best fit.  Finally, we found a good fit yesterday.  And my child (who had experienced a traumatic dental experience) practically skipped home (figuratively, of course, since we drove), and I have been relieved that all went well.  Third dentist worked!!!!!  Hooray!!!!!

Case the Second:  Boots

Back in this post, I talked about my excitement related to FINALLY ordering brown boots…and how I sent them back.  Well, I ordered another pair of (unmentioned) boots in the meantime, and they were also a no-go.  I was getting a bit frustrated…but, fear not!  The third pair I ordered worked out beautifully!  I wanted heels (not riding boots) in a dark brown color with a more fitted shaft…and not too trendy so they last through several seasons.  I found a pair online that said they were over-the-knee (so I was a little concerned, since I wanted the boots to come just under my knee)…but I guess my legs are long enough that they fit exactly like I wanted them to fit!  Hooray!!!!! No more brown boot shopping for me!  Third pair worked!!!!! (Now, if I can just figure out how to treat suede so that they will be water-resistant…any one?  Any one?)

So, a song from my days of listening to and loving Schoolhouse Rock is playing in my head right now; I guess three really is a magic number.  Do you agree?  What experiences do you have when the third experience worked for you?

Sending hugs!!!!!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

10 thoughts on “Third Time’s the Charm”

    1. Schoolhouse Rock is awesome! So glad it’s been revived so I can share it with my kiddos! 🙂 I probably wouldn’t have noticed except that the two instances happened so close together! Hope you are doing well, Queen Elizabeth!

  1. Understand what your saying about the dentist — we haven’t had a cleaning in two plus years…just too expensive without insurance. Glad you found some boots you love — finding the “right pair” of shoes can be such a bear! Hugs back atcha!

    1. Thanks!!! Yes, both have been a work in progress…and I feel so grateful to be feeling progress!!!! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful day! What are your making now?

Leave a Reply

