Relief and Writing

As many of you may well know, I completed my goal to write 50,000 words of a novel in thirty days for NaNoWriMo last November.  And, up until this week, I had edited about 20 pages of my (so far) 198 page manuscript.  I have been devoting more time to working on it as of late…and I am continually reminded of what I learned last November 30.

I DON’T KNOW HOW TO END A NOVEL.

Thank goodness I have plenty of editing to do before I get to revisit that ending endeavor I performed toward the end of last year.  As NaNoWriMo is a purely creative effort, I have found that minor characters have different names throughout the text as I reread it, and I’ve found some continuity issues with which I am dealing…and some character development…and so on…and so forth.  🙂  But, as I work on it, I am reminded of the energy I feel when I am writing as well as the happiness I feel when I am typing away at my screen, figuratively painting words onto a page…sillouhettes of lives and stories.

Also, I would like to say HUZZAH as I think I have made it through the enormous stress bubbles which have been clouding my vision and invading my ability to see clearly (and I am BEYOND THANKFUL).  I want to give each of you a shout-out for all your support and help through these past couple months (which have been anything but easy for me).  After some events and visitors this past weekend, I came home from errands Monday morning, cuddled with my preschooler on the couch, and we slept for a glorious two hours.  Upon waking, my head was clear, my vision was focused, and my energy was tangible.  As I have continued through this week, I am still feeling happy (mostly) and satisfied.  My perspective has enlarged, and I am moving forward (after a quite stagnant several weeks).  I am feeling relief!  And I am writing!  And…guess what?  I am oh-so-happy!!!!

🙂

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

