Love…True Love

I remember laughing so hard my insides hurt when I first watched Peter Cook recite these famous lines:

I laughed even more when a dear friend of mine, who I dare say captured the essence of Peter Cook’s delivery of those lines, along with her own comedic flair, would recite those beloved lines.

“Wuv…troo wuv….”

Well, I am writing today because I have been considering “The Thing Called Love” (which, incidentally, was a movie I enjoyed back in the day but haven’t revisited for years). Before you go “blame it on your lyin’, cheatin’, cold, dead-beatin’, two-timin’, double-dealin’, mean, mistreatin’, lovin’ heart,” you might want to consider LOVE for a little while, too…and more specifically the opportunity or possibility for an eternal or timeless love….

I am not a big Twilight fan.¬† I haven’t read any of the books; I never waited in line or paid for a ticket to see any of the films.¬† I did, however, out of respect for cultural literacy, decide (maybe¬†at about the time New Moon was released) that I would probably ClearPlay most of the films by the end of the series.¬† As of last night, I have completed watching the films (mainly due to one of my children’s unlikely fascination with the franchise)…and as I have pondered what I have learned and the attraction of the story, I have some thoughts to share.

I believe in eternal love.  I believe that relationships exist beyond this life, and that we can be with our loved ones again who are currently separated from us because of death.  I also believe in the immortality of the soul.  I do not, however, believe in the reality of vampires (no matter what history might say about Abraham Lincoln hunting them) :).  Still, I think the medium of vampire culture serves a purpose to paint a picture of a loving, supportive family, with couples who honor vows to one another.

Could our disposable society learn anything from these messages?¬† (Here I would like to insert my belief that I do support the option of divorce in particular circumstances…but I think people often¬†throw away relationships that could be saved with effort and work much like they throw away their fast food wrappers and paper plates after dinner….)

I am also captivated by the story found in The Time Traveler’s Wife.¬† While I found the abundant profanity in the book offensive and skimmed over¬†some graphic sex scenes, I felt compelled to finish the book.¬† As I read,¬†the power of a committed relationship that did not bend to time taught me again and again.¬† Now, I do not believe in time travel (though I do find the¬†Back to the Future movies highly entertaining).¬† What draws me to this¬†story is the decision two people made to be together, to grow together, to live through challenges together, and to love each other fiercely.

I have heard that any two people committed to each other and committed to God can make a marriage work.¬† Not to say that some people aren’t more well-suited to each other…some are.¬† Still, committment is key in making a relationship work.¬† And, every day¬†anyone in a relationship wakes up each morning and makes a decision to stay with that person (or not).¬† This decision may not be consciously made, but it is made nonetheless.¬† And the decision is yours to make your love…[a] true love that will stand the test of time (and maybe even eternity).

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

