Do We Eat Words?

While chatting with the preschooler today over markers and paper, I noted the letters my little one was drawing in rainbow colors across the tablet of white.  I remarked, “I like your letters.”

Preschooler:  “I LIKE letters.”

“Me, too,” I responded.

“I like words.”  Then, looking up from the markers and papers, these words spouted from little lips:  “What do we do with words?  Do we eat words?”

I smiled at the innocent question. “We don’t eat words.  Sometimes we spit words.  Sometimes we say words….”

I know that sometimes people talk of “eating their words” when discussing having to take back words or admit they were wrong…but try explaining that to a preschooler.  🙂  The question has given me pause, though.

In current parenting circles and educational venues, children are encouraged to “use [their] words” instead of acting out with their bodies in frustration or other emotions.  Sometimes the phrase “use your words” is used to promote verbal communication.  I have used it many times myself with my own children and with other little ones.  I find words intriguing, marvelous, powerful tools!  I love to use them to describe, to console, to communicate, to empower, to compliment, and to strengthen.  And so I leave you with this same question today as you consider life, liberty, and your personal pursuit of happiness:

What do you do with words?  🙂

(And, because every post is better with music…here’s “One Word” from Elliott Yamin that I found on Spotify to share with you…because we all know I love a good, upbeat, positive love song….)

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Do We Eat Words?”

  1. I love words. I love language – this is something I have been increasingly becoming aware of, and now I love that your blog has made me wonder what I ‘do’ with them…their impact is so beautifully huge, and so often only the negative factor of this is focused on. But what about the beauty and inspiration that words can bring too? x

    1. So glad that the blog is creating positive thought! 🙂 I often tell my loved ones that the words they say to me sink deeply into my soul and I reflect on them in times of need. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

