Hit the Pavement!

So…last week I took a break from the wide world of exercise.  Prior to that week, I was getting in about 3 workouts/week (to help maintain muscle tone, lower stress levels, and keep up with the massive amounts of carbs I’ve been eating…and to claim all the happy heart benefits of exercising….).  Anyway, by Saturday, my stress level was…shall we say HIGH…and I was missing the fresh air and pavement under my feet.  So, I decided that I was–come what may–going to run.

I found my workout gear, running jacket, iPod headphones, and shoes.  I laced up both shoes, then sat for a moment to add some recently acquired music to my “a good run” playlist.  As I did, I felt something poking the inside of my right ankle.  I unlaced my shoes (have I mentioned that I abhor tying shoes and avoid this action whenever possible?) to investigate.  I pushed around my sock and flicked at the spot in my shoe until I was satisfied that the sharp object digging into my skin had exited.

I started a load of (long overdue) laundry.

I stretched.

I added a few more songs.

I took a sip of water.

Then, I popped the ear buds into my ears and searched for a song that would pump up my energy level and inspire me to keep moving muscles in a way I hadn’t done for…well, let’s just say it’s been awhile…. 🙂

Rob Bass started chanting in my ear (thank heavens my dear friend edited the song for me so I could listen to it in peace), and my feet were keeping up with the rhythm, pounding with the force of weekly frustrations and newfound strength.  I didn’t even care about keeping pace or running far; I just needed the boost of pavement beneath my feet and the spirit of the earth flowing around me.  I felt renewed, refreshed, and amazing.  The wind hit my face like a wall, but I kept moving.  A few more songs, and I was back home to lift, do push ups and abs.

The next morning, I got out of bed with shin splints.  Oops!  I guess I forgot to stretch those muscles!  Still, with every step I took, I was reminded of the rush of energy of my run and of the work I am doing to live healthy and to be strong.  The shin splints were practically a gift…and I was grateful for them.  🙂

What do you do to combat stress and to increase your personal health and strength?

P.S.  Did you know that Brooks (awesome running shoes) has a Wear Tester Program for their products?  You can fill out a profile, and you become eligible to try out their new gear for FREE…pretty sweet, eh?  🙂

Adrenaline GTS 13

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

12 thoughts on “Hit the Pavement!”

  1. thanks for the tip about Brooks. I’ve been getting nagged by a couple of workout pals to get a pair, so this must be confirmation. 😉 (just please tell me they magically heal toe spurs & I’m in!!)

    1. I don’t know about toe spurs, but they have done wonders in arch support for me. I ran a half marathon in mine two summers ago…and I’m not sure I’ll ever wear another brand! 🙂

    1. I’ve just learned that for me exercise is a necessity rather than an option. If I go too many days without it, I feel it! You’ll get there…just remember to be patient with yourself. Life has all kinds of times and seasons. My kiddos were older before I could really begin a structured, scheduled exercise program (and it is continually changing). Sending hugs your way!!!!

  2. I love this. I was totally there running with you on the pavement, you write so wonderfully. Right now DANCE is so my thing. Whether it’s for five minutes in my room or a weekly dance class I’ve now begin going to. There’s something so empowering about it, and i always feel so grateful and proud of my body when I groove away, so that’s really nice too, and so important. I tried kickboxing which was amazing last week! With chronic fatigue symtoms it’s a bit tricky to do cardio without feeling AWFUL so I mostly spend so much time walking or dancing, or a newer funny thing – hula hooping! My stomach loves it! And it’s fun. Basically, as long as there’s music and nature, or both, I’m there. : ) xxx

    1. AWESOME! I love dancing, too. Sometimes I line dance for a workout, adding a little weight in my arms. It’s really fun. Dancing doesn’t feel like working out…it’s so enjoyable! Walking is good, too. I’ve never been able to hula hoop. Maybe I should try again? 🙂 Thanks for your feedback. Your words are always appreciated! Hugs back to you!

Leave a Reply

