Connected

I have twins. They are NOT identical. They are not even the same gender. One is brunette and olive-toned; one is blonde and pink-toned. They are both beautiful. But they DO NOT get along all that often.

In fact, they haven’t gotten along super-well since womb and birth. Think Jacob and Esau, if you read the Bible. But, occasionally, I feel the privilege of noticing what I have come to term a “twin moment.” These moments are sweetly connecting moments, where they seem like more than friends and more than siblings…like two people who inherently need each other and have been inseparable since before birth. I love these moments. 🙂

One happened this weekend, as we were studying scriptures together as a family. The twins were sitting side-by-side with their backs to the arm of the couch and their feet under a blanket together across the cushions. They shared a large-print copy of inspired words, and the one who is more proficient at reading helped the less-proficient one with tough words as we all took turns reading.

I felt like one happy mama.

Then, I began to reflect on those moments when I bask in the connected feelings with my husband, children, sisters, brothers, parents, and friends. I live for those moments when, just being myself, I can CONNECT with another individual. Connecting with others is one of my happiest purposes in life. I’m not sure I can adequately describe the innate desire and need through words…
…so I’ll share with you one of my favorite songs from (brace yourself) my favorite Barbie movie, Barbie and the Diamond Castle. This film celebrates the power of friendship and music, and I LOVE IT. 🙂 Here you go:

And, just for the record, this is post #99….
#100 is up-and-coming…and a celebration! Thanks for sharing this journey with me! I love to feel connected to you!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Connected”

  1. I have a twin brother, and we didn’t get along as kids very often — except when it was important. For example, he was allowed to be mean to me but he would stand up for me when other kids were being mean to me. And as adults, we get along great now.

Leave a Reply

