Cold, Cold, Go Away!

I have a nasty cold.  I don’t know how I could get a cold, with all the sunshine and warmth around me, but I have a cold.  I didn’t ask for it, I promise.  In fact, I didn’t kiss my handsome husband for over a week in pursuit of NOT getting a cold.  What a loss.  😦

Anyway, one of the blessings that comes with having a cold is the need (but not always the ability) to rest while recouping.  Well, I haven’t had that luxury too much over the past few weeks, but one day not too long ago I did take a few minutes to catch up on some cuddling with my (gasp–almost school-age) little guy while watching some Pride and Prejudice (2005).  I was struck this go-round with the scene when Elizabeth is pleading with her father for permission to marry Mr. Darcy.  She talks about how she was wrong and how she really does love him (touching, right?).  What I loved about this moment was not her tribute to his character or her admission of her own pride but the fact that nothing went as Lizzie planned, yet she still got all she wanted–marriage to a man she loved while maintaining her own identity–with even “more fine carriages than Jane [would have marrying Mr. Bingley].”

Pride & Prejudice
photo credit

I think that’s where I am.

In my life, with all the plans I could make (though I do continue to set goals and achieve them at times), I’m not prepared for all the twists and turns that have come my way.  Still, I am happy.  I have more than enough and to spare for myself and my family (& I can say that even while suffering through this heinous cold that woke me up before 5 a.m. in search of cold medicine and VapoRub more than once last week).  So, hooray for a crazy cold!  Hooray for being able to think for ourselves and choose what we want out of life!  Hooray for counting blessings and maintaining positive attitudes!  Hooray for being me, today, in a place I could’ve never imagined, but where I have all I need and most everything I could want.

Hooray!

🙂

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

