An adventure was going to happen…

I used to have a Classic Winnie the Pooh stamp that had the phrase on it, “An adventure was going to happen…” (which I often read and puzzled over in my youthful mind). The drawing under the words captured a moment with Christopher Robin holding the hand of Winnie the Pooh as they headed off into some unknown direction, facing new sights, smells, sounds, (and most likely some honey at some point for Pooh Bear’s rumbly tummy).

On the other side of over a decade of marriage, several children, heart leaps and heartaches, I have found that to be my experience almost every day of every year (minus the honey, of course).

I used to (and still work hare at overcoming this tendency…especially on tired days) be quite negative. I used to be more like Eeyore, noticing the little black rain cloud that stood just over my head (but no one else’s). I claimed that cloud in the name of realism and carefully placed my personal flag within the grey puffs of condensation and brewing storms, like Neil Armstrong posting red, white, and blue stars and stripes on craters of a heavenly sphere in 1969. While I was under my little cloud, I could find all the sad, despairing circumstances in which I lived each day.


photo credit

But I wasn’t happy.

And I wanted desperately to be happy.

So I changed.

I changed from Eeyore to Winnie the Pooh…a little less steeped in “reality” and a little more optimistic. I’m trying to look at each day as an adventure. I’m learning that blessings come in small and large packages, and one of the most amazing blessings of all is the gift of friendship. I’m finding quiet and loud moments of joy.

And I am happy.
🙂


photo credit

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

2 thoughts on “An adventure was going to happen…”

Leave a Reply

