A Study of Sleep in Song

I’ve been thinking about sleeping and waking lately. I’m not sure the reason, except maybe with the changes in season and Daylight Savings Time approaching…and maybe the fact that I adjusted my alarm to wake me up one hour earlier this week (which has been interesting). It’s been fun to press snooze a little longer…and on days that I don’t find the button soon enough, to get up a little earlier and have a few more quiet moments in my morning than I have had for quite some time. πŸ™‚

I find a bit of humor in our patterns of life and wanting to sleep, or wanting others to sleep (parenting, anyone?)–and particularly the badges of amazingness we give each other for staying up all night (teenagers? college students?). I don’t have any solid hypotheses as of yet…but on tired, yawning days, I wish I’d taken sleep a little more seriously when I had prior opportunities to partake of its goodness.

Anyway, here are some studies for your weekend regarding sleep & waking set to music (with apologies for a little weirdness in some of the videos–hopefully you get the point):


“Lullaby” – Brahms (which I can actually sing in the original German thanks to an amazing voice teacher in college)


“Little Man, You’re Crying” – Sigler, Wayne & Hoffman


“Hush-a-Bye” – Bing Crosby


“Don’t Wake Me Up” – Chris Brown


“Losing Sleep” – Parachute


“Counting Stars” – One Republic


“Wide Awake” – Katy Perry


“Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” – Wham!


“Up All Night” – 1D

What are your favorite sleeping and waking songs?

Happy Friday! πŸ™‚

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

2 thoughts on “A Study of Sleep in Song”

  1. Great selection! I love Katy Perry’s Wide Awake. I also enjoy how you have a theme to your music. I do that too with my iPod smartlists, but sometimes I end up with selections that don’t make sense since I’m using iTunes search option in titles. Oh, well… You’ve given me an idea to revisit my playlists! Thanks!

    1. I’ve never used iPod smartlists…maybe I should look into that…? I love Spotify for searching out words (though it often just works for song titles). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

