Breast Cancer Awareness

I posted this piece originally here. It has become one of my favorite short pieces that I have written, and the images I see when I read it still touch me. I hope you enjoy it for this week’s Flashback Friday/Fiction Friday post.

I lean her tiny frame against my chest as I see her thin reflection in the bathroom mirror. I know she will not ask for help. Still, she has become so weak, so frail, that even the buttons on her shirt have become difficult for her. I slide my arms around her and begin at the top, pulling, twisting, and pulling each button through the stitched hole. As I see her profile in the mirror, I recognize the wear on her face, the shine of light from her head. I pull her shirt down off her shoulders as the water in the shower streams across the tile, beats rain-like patterns on the glass door. My hands move across her back to unhook her bra, and I slide the straps off her shoulders, remove the prosthesis. I run my hands down her shoulders, across her chest, her collarbone, her space where her breast used to be.

The scar from where she fought like a dragon feels smooth on my fingertips. The new form is different, yes, but beautiful still. Even more beautiful.

I help her climb the small step into the steam of the shower. I look through the glass, not bathed in water vapor, and I see her again for the first time.

These moments catch me off guard. I feel like I am the one who should fight this monster for her, but she has had to walk a path through darkness and pain I may never know.

My eyes begin to well, but the tears are not full of loss for her breast, her hair; instead a soft smile covers my face as a tiny drop streams down my cheek. I still have the most important thing to me in the entire world.

I still have her.

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Breast Cancer Awareness”

  1. Hello my kind, sweet, sensitive, compassionate & talented friend!
    I am awarding you with The Inventive Blogger Award.
    Is this piece one about a specific person, or for all the women with breast cancer?
    I am not sure?? At any rate, it was very touching. So much that I will share it on Totally Inspired Mind.

    To accept your award, you will need to write 15 interesting things about yourself, and the award the same award to 15 bloggers you admire.

    Congrats!

    1. Thank you! I will work on sharing this!
      To answer your question, it was an image that struck me last year in the middle of the night. It was so powerful that I got up to write it. I have known many women who have suffered with breast cancer over the years, and I wrote it as a tribute to them and the men in their lives who have supported them and admired their courage. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

