Faith is a Principle of Action

As the mornings get cooler, my love affair with my warm and cozy bed becomes more intense. Recently, after a morning of pressing the “snooze” button one too many times on my alarm (which squished our normal morning routines into about half the time we are used to), I said to one of my daughters, “It took a lot of faith for me to get out of bed this morning.”

I have been taught, “Faith is a principle of action and of power….”

That same morning, my app where I usually do my daily scripture study kept crashing. I tried several times, even moving the app around on my screen, but to no avail. I decided to use an alternate approach through a different app, and I found this video.

It went along with the experience I had earlier that morning, showing that faith is something that requires action. The man in the short film who was healed had to have faith on the words of Jesus Christ, that he would indeed be able to stand, take up his bed, and walk. He had to put faith in Christ and in himself to follow through with and obey (what I find to be basically) a commandment. He put faith and trust in the words and promise of Christ, followed that faith with action, and received power.

I am watching this pattern in my life.

Sometimes, like I said, on cooler mornings, I long for the warmth of my bed. Some days I feel too tired to get up and do the morning rush all over again, day in and day out…but, I have found that as I put my faith in God, seeking to do that work that He would have me do through mothering and loving and living each day (action), I am given strength (power) to move forward (or, on some days, to simply keep going).

How has faith changed you?

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

