What Kiddos Say…

This past weekend, my daughter had our beads out to make some bracelet gifts for two of her sweet friends’ birthdays. As she began mixing and matching beads, trying this pattern with that color, or trading a Swarovski bicone with a pearl, I began to play, too. I found a pattern of pearl beads in various sizes and colors of pale green, coral, and cream, adding them one at a time to a sturdy strand of wire. I crimped the clasp on, and eventually placed it on the counter in my bathroom, where one of my twins found it Sunday evening.

With surprise, he queried, “Are these real?”

“No. They are just acrylic beads covered to look like pearls.”

“Well, if they were real, you would be rich!”

I thought for a moment, as I have been pondering the true value of worldly wealth and possessions as of late, and I responded quickly (and a little cheesily, I must admit…but the sentiment was sincere), “I am already rich. I have you.”

He pondered for a moment, and then spoke.

“I guess you’re right, since you can sell children for about $20,000.00 each.”

Not exactly the message I was trying to send….

🙂

20131028-090359.jpg

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “What Kiddos Say…”

Leave a Reply

