Struggling, Writers?

Well, yes, I have been struggling as a writer lately. I have this manuscript I’ve been writing and editing since November 2012–and this manuscript (though it has great potential) has needed some work–such as a new beginning. Not really a big deal, right?

Wrong.

And I have been struggling. And thinking. And pondering. And writing. And editing. And thinking some more.

I could have chosen at any moment to let it all go, to quit, to give in to the voices that tell me the process is too difficult, that I don’t have whatever-it-is that is needed to publish, that I really can’t be successful in a sea of so many voices.

But I did not. And I do not.

Actually, working through these moments, I have realized how much writing means to me.

Yesterday, I was in the midst of supporting a lovely community I found recently on twitter. As I was reading posts to retweet and favorite on #MondayBlogs, I connected with a fellow wordpress blogger who posted this lovely piece of amazingness. As I read about her journey, I was able to envision another moment in my first chapter–another beginning–one which I know is a step in the right direction (even if it might not be the final beginning). And the energy and life-giving writing is beginning to flow once more.

And I am grateful–grateful for community among writers, for support, and for the shutting down the negativity inside myself and feeding the positive!

Sending much love to all of you this year! xoxoxox

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Struggling, Writers?”

  1. The writing community is a phenomenal place to belong. I have never felt such a connection to so many supportive and loving individuals. Best of luck to you in writing your manuscript! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I started writing that first chapter today (I’ve been mulling it over a bit since I read your post), and I know it’s at least a step in the right direction! Best to you, and thanks again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

