I Got Caught!

I didn’t mean anything by it, really. So what if we were all in the kitchen together? So what if it was one of the few moments we would spend together in a twenty-four-hour period? It was just a swipe and a few quick touches on my phone. I just wanted to check email. No big deal.

20140127-120004.jpg

Well, after those few seconds of swiping and pressing my finger to the little glass screen, I looked forward–straight into the eyes of my littlest guy. The look in his eyes took me aback, like he was wondering if I could ever look at him with the anticipation that I look at my phone.

He didn’t have to say a word.

I learned my lesson.

His eyes will forever be burned in the recesses of my mind when I think of putting phone over family, of putting Facebook over friendships, of putting twitter over togetherness. Life is too short, and one of my goals this year is to practice living in, soaking in, and relishing each moment–for every second on this earth is a blessing…and I’m ready to start counting mine!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

