Because I’m Happy

How many of Pharrell Williams’ “Happy” videos have you watched? I hope you’ve seen his one, at least:

He actually created twenty-four hours of video for his song, which he has posted by various hours on YouTube and on his 24hoursofhappy.com site. Pretty cool, eh?

Well, aside from hearing the chorus over and over in my house recently from various posts of friends or even renditions from children, I have been pondering this idea of a complete day of happiness.

Have you had one of those?

A whole, entire, beautiful day of nothing but happy?

How did you feel? And, what kind of process happened for you to create twenty-four hours of happy?

I’m sure I’ve had them, too. Often, they happen when I am intentionally living in the moment, soaking in air and life and scents and sounds…not allowing anyone or anything to violate my determination to be happy.

I laugh at the little things, like this morning when my kiddo got stuck and an older sibling swept him out of his predicament and carried him to safety without a thought other than to help. Instead of worry for the situation, I chose to be happy.

This journey toward happiness hasn’t been easy or quick, but it has been worth training my brain to think happy, to release fear, and to enjoy this experience we call life.

And, Pharrell Williams’ song (& others like it) help to remind us simply that happiness is not just attainable but what we were born to be.

File:Smiley.svg

photo credit

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

2 thoughts on “Because I’m Happy”

Leave a Reply

