Eat me

An honest look at some hard topics from a brilliant voice. Please share your thoughts in the comments.

mama crossroads

NEDAwarenessPoster_Web I’m running again. The sweat burns my eyes. My heart pounds in rhythm with my footsteps. I slam my feet down angrily, wishing I could flatten my love handles as easily as I hammer the soft path beneath my sneakers.

I awaken the next morning and the next and the next … and she’s still there. She looks the same. The girl in the reflection. Worn, ragged, and plump. And I hate her.

I’m Alice. The little pillow mint says “eat me.” I look around to see if anyone is watching. I blush. I only nibble, but still I grow as big as a house. My tears are an ocean. I reach for comfort and find the carafe on the table. It says “drink me,” but when I do I fall and choke on the liquid. Now I’m small enough to squash like a bug. No one can see me…

View original post 904 more words

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Eat me”

    1. It’s well-written with serious insight. 🙂 You are gifted to address difficult topics while provoking thought. Thank you for being open enough to share. XOXOXO back at ya! 🙂

  1. Hi there! My name is Heather I was hoping you could answer a quick question I have about your blog! If you could email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com whenever you get a free moment I would greatly appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

