Candy Everybody Wants

Dreams are strange, right? Do you have crazy dreams? Some nights I do…like the other night when I dreamed my husband and I were going to see a 10,000 Maniacs concert–you know, back in the day when Natalie Merchant was singing? I was really excited, mainly because I love their Our Time In Eden release. It’s one of my favorite albums of all time. I love all the Biblical allusions (in fact, I wrote several papers on Biblical allusions in popular music during my critical writing career).

As we sat in the seats in the theater, people began handing us costumes to put on over our clothing and ushered us to the stage to perform.

What?!?!?!

I showed up to enjoy a concert. Where is Natalie Merchant? I was already happily singing away to this:

and looking forward to hearing this:

Wasn’t gonna happen.

We followed the directions of an older actress with dark hair and distinct features. We went up on stage, where we improvised the best we could to what must have been an empty theater. Only the director and the lighting supervisor were in the back up in that little box where they always sit (I’m sure there is some theater word for it I should know…).

I was grateful to wake up…and to move on from the craziness…while part of me longed for the adventure of performing and being a part of a production.

(What do you think it means?)

Guess I’ll just turn on some 10,000 Maniacs and see what adventures are about to happen….

🙂

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

