Can You Feel the Love Tonight?

I was driving in my car down a long stretch of road pasted between lights and buildings, parks and restaurants. My destination was sure, though I was a few minutes behind schedule. I turned on the radio for company, listening to favorites and switching stations often.

When I heard the first few beats of Elton John’s music, I immediately recognized it as his song from Disney’s The Lion King, and I reached to change the station.

Sorry Elton John fans. I recognize his talent as one of the music greats of all time…but his songs just don’t usually speak to my soul.

The closest I’ve come to being moved by his music was his ballad to the late Marilyn Monroe, “Candle In the Wind.” That is, at least until this recent drive.

As I touched the button to change stations, I had a thought to listen to the song.

(I’ve come to recognize that little thoughts like that one are often valuable.)

I settled into the seat, cautious of my speed, as my breathing slowed in time with the music. I began to sing of “kings” and “vagabonds” along with Elton’s smooth vocals.

But, what meant more to me was the way I felt.

I felt love. I felt assurance. I felt that the many pressures, responsibilities, and decisions that rest upon my shoulders were known and recognized by a Higher Power. I also somehow felt that all would be fine.

I wonder if Elton John could have ever known that his song would mean so much to a thirty-something mother and writer while driving her car down an almost-too-familiar road. I could honestly answer yes to his musical query. I did, indeed, feel love that night…and I have tried to carry that feeling of love with me and share it along this road I’m still traveling. ❤

When do you feel love? How do you share it? And what have you created and shared, like Elton John's song, that has become meaningful to others you may not ever know?

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

2 thoughts on “Can You Feel the Love Tonight?”

  1. Hello Karin! Your questions prompted a journal entry for me. I was only able to answer the first question. Thank you for being inspiring. See you on Happier.

Leave a Reply

