One Step

I’ve long loved a hymn titled, “Lead, Kindly Light” for its poetry and imagery as well as its haunting melody and harmony lines. One line in particular has been my companion for the last few days–the line that says simply, “one step enough for me.”

photo credit

As I wake in the morning, sometimes the first step of the day appears to be the most daunting task I might face. I choose to leave the comfort of down and cotton and warmth and cuddles and step into cool air…and more decisions follow with breakfast and reading and how to spend the precious moments before my filled home empties as my children embrace their work of the day.

This morning, I took a walk with my dear neighbor. We meandered through streets, on and off sidewalks, around bushes and evergreen trees and shrubs. Each step was a decision, whether conscious or not.

Over the weekend, I had multiple responsibilities–and after a busy Wednesday through Friday, I was craving some down time and some sleep. Still, I would take a step forward–a step to help a friend move (even in inclement weather), a step to help build sets for my son’s upcoming play, a step to take my daughters to be part of an activity to help others, to be uplifted, and to rejoice in womanhood. Each step took strength–but with each step, I gained more confidence that I could continue on through my day.

By Sunday, I tried not to fall asleep during the services…but I rejoiced in the steps I had taken through the weekend to help others and to strengthen myself. I heard that line again play in my mind, “one step enough for me.”

I’m currently taking a leap of faith…a step into the darkness…. As I wait for the next step on my path to become clear, I will continue taking steps–steps to serve, steps to understand, steps to live, steps to learn, steps to love.

Where will your steps lead you today?

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

