Existence In a Minor Key

I wrote this poem years ago, mid-college. I’ve long loved the emotion it captures, though the sentiment of the speaker is no longer one I share. The format here doesn’t allow for the movement of lines the way it has been published previously. Hope you enjoy reading!

I was born to write a song
A symphony maybe
For a full orchestra…with characters dressed in black and white
The star pianist’s tuxedo
Matching perfectly the keys;
The tuned A from the Concert Master plays in my mind

Still I sit here,
Fiddling with the old easy duets
On similar patterned keys
Of black and white,
But I am wearing cream and blue.

I am playing songs I learned when I was eight:
Chopsticks,
Heart and Soul,
And others I’ve forgotten names of…

I am hungry for the lights of a stage
The acoustics of the concert hall
Allowing my melody to resonate from every direction,
And seeing my name written on the upper right corner of
Every page of music

But I am left here
With this old piano
Which is completely out of tune…
Children screaming in the background producing their own symphonies
Of sound

Living in mediocrity
Is painful.

–Karin D. Salisbury


photo credit

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

4 thoughts on “Existence In a Minor Key”

    1. Thank you so much for reading! I’m grateful you enjoyed the poem. I appreciated the experience of typing it again after all these years. 🙂 Posting another one tomorrow in honor of National Poetry Month…& maybe a few more sprinkled in through April. 🙂 Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    1. Thank you ever so much, Vanessa! I promise you will find your own voice in writing as you continue to practice. My writing is a constant work in progress! Much love and best wishes during NPM to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

