The Glory of Music

Over break, I needed to connect. I needed to connect with my children, with my husband, with family, with friends, and with my past. I introduced my children to the charming, music-filled drama, Beaches, which was my go-to movie when I needed a good cry at age thirteen (and it still works even though I’m now in my thirties).

I found myself singing along throughout the auditions, the rehearsals, the shows, and I was reminded how much I adore the soundtrack.

About a week later, kiddos had gone back to school, and no one had said much about the film or soundtrack until my little guy walked into our living room belting out, “That’s the glory of love!”

I did a double-take (especially since he fell asleep during the movie and didn’t even hear Bette Midler’s reprise of the song before the credits ran. I asked my older daughter if she had been singing it, but she hadn’t been. It was simply the power of music.

While looking for photos for another blog post, I happened on this article from Scientific American regarding music and training and the brain, which is a long-time interest of mine. Though I received limited piano, violin, bass, and vocal training, I am grateful for the brain connections I have because of music and for the love of music my parents, friends, and family share with me. There is glory in music and in love.

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

One thought on “The Glory of Music”

Leave a Reply

