Pre-writing Activities

Before you write (or do anything creative), do you have a go-to activity to invite your muse?

My pre-writing activities vary, but here are a few that work for me:

1. Sleep. Sleep may sound counter productive to creating, but it clears my brain of prior activities, and those vague moments when my brain begins to wake up lend themselves to great thoughts and problem-solving.

photo credit

2. Read. Read. And Read. Reading the works of others helps ideas that might be buried deep inside of me find air and life and voice. The written word is amazing, so read it. Now.


photo credit

3. Take a brain break. If I’ve been sitting in front of a screen–feet tucked close and legs under my chin–sometimes I need to move. I will turn on something from Spotify or a Just Dance YouTube song and get moving for about five minutes. Then, I’m back in my chair with my feet tucked again, typing away in the world of fiction.


photo credit

4. Eat. Yes, I still remember my junior high teacher who bemoaned our B lunch right in the middle of the period. She said that the second half of the period after our necessary class interruption of lunch was pointless because eating sent all the energy from our brains to our stomachs to digest the peanut butter sandwiches and Little Debbie cakes we had just eaten. Well, that may be true, but I find sending a continuous stream of something to munch on can keep me interested in my project. My snacks of choice aren’t always the healthiest, but they keep me writing. 🙂


photo credit

5. Feed my spirit. Activities like visiting a museum, scripture study, yoga/chakra work, journal writing, chatting with a friend, taking a walk/run, writing a gratitude list or thank you card ground me and help me remember my higher purpose is to connect and share love, and that purpose is a main reason why I write.


photo credit

So, sleep a little, read stacks of books, take a brain break (or two), eat something yummy, feed your spirit and write a bunch. I’ll be here with you…ready to connect.

Much love!

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

