Name Hijacking

Courtesy of www.mysoulpurpose.org
photo credit

So, I’m working on this piece of writing–a novel excerpt–and I’ve been really struggling with naming one of the main characters.

He’s not someone I ever want to know in reality. I don’t like him. And, occasionally, I get a little creeped out editing chapters about him. (Hopefully, that occurrence means that I’ve written him affectively.)

Still, I’ve had a most difficult time naming him.

Now, I take naming real lives quite seriously. When each of our children entered our arms, we spent a minimum of a day reflecting on what to name them, knowing well that a name can have influence on your life in an almost tangible way.

I may be just slightly less serious about naming my characters.

(And this guy isn’t a great guy–so, of course, I don’t want to name him after anyone that I like….)

The only problem there is that I’ve known lots of people, and I like most of them. 🙂

We (the character and I) went through a transition from a name that started with a G (that was a real name, though it kinda sounded like I made it up) to a name that began with a C (but had a pretty obvious Biblical allusion…anyone care to guess?) to a name that began with an E (what he is named currently). The E name is not a name of anyone I know personally, and it is also the name of a fairly malicious character in a book series I read recently. I was okay with using the E name…at least for now.

While we are talking about names, I found a name that I loved but my husband wasn’t too fond of–and one that was in my ancestry. I didn’t have another daughter after I discovered it (which was probably a blessing since I don’t like to argue with my husband–& I just might’ve been willing to fight for that one). I was excited last month when I remembered the name while I started working on a new novel (I’ve been dying to try something dystopian). Hooray! I can name a character after one of my ancestors.

And, I actually like this character.

🙂

How do you name your characters? Do you try to make connections or simply find a name you like? Do your characters show up in your brain with or without names? Do you use online resources to do name research?

Published by

Karin

Writer, freelance editor, mother, artist...I wear a few other hats, as well, of course. :)

3 thoughts on “Name Hijacking”

  1. Good questions! I use online resources, an old baby names book (sounds like you may have one, too) and then as you alluded to — I just go with what feels right. Good luck on your naming, and on your writing!

  2. I know, right?! We named our youngest while drinking a bottle of wine (embarrassing story to tell your classmates, admittedly, that you’re named after a nice white, but hey). My serial killer, on the other hand, has been the topic of numerous group discussions and has (so far) be renamed 7 times! What the heck?? Yah. I feel you, sister.

Leave a comment